Favorite Charitable Contributions

Standard

I’ve listed my favorite charitable organizations below, both international and domestic.

I have wonderful memories of sitting head-to-head with my daughter perusing the Heifer International catalog. Heifer, in case you don’t know, provides animals to families in developing and poverty-stricken countries. If the family is able to produce more chickens, or goats, or pigs, then they will donate at least one to another family.  You can purchase a fifth of a pig, or an entire chicken, in honor of someone you love. S. has many cousins who lived out of town and every Christmas we would choose which animals we thought that cousin would enjoy learning about from Heifer’s mailing when we made our contribution in his or her name.

I still make end-of-year contributions, but with more resources at my disposal at this stage of life, my contributions are more varied and chosen for the organization’s specific mission. I also make all my contributions online now, not from print catalogs. My husband and I have worked out a budget where I have a certain amount of our family income with which to do this.  Find a full list of my 2011 contributions below. Most have received donations in past years. A few are new. Every choice engages me. I carefully make out a list of organizations, balancing local and international, and how much each will receive. Most of them are grassroots, such as Fonkoze that provides microfinancing for women’s businesses in Haiti. Others, like Interfaith Works or House of Ruth, perform community services for those in need in the metropolitan D.C. area. Quite a few I read about in Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide, the powerful book by Nicholos Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, http://www.halftheskymovement.org. (haven’t learned how to link yet on my blog).  The local ones I’ve known people active in the organizations, or volunteered with them myself. For instance, the long-time director of National Center for Children and Families served on the first board with me of the Collaboration Council for Children, Youth, and Families many years ago.  My husband and I were mentors with the Friends and Families program with Interfaith Works for years. So if you have any questions about why I chose a particular organization, or one that you have chosen to contribute to, let me hear from you.

International:

Women’s Learning Partnership

UNICEF

Women Thrive International

Bokamoso

Somaly Mam

Fonkoze

Hearts with Haiti

Child Fund International

Center for Reproductive Rights

Women’s Environment and Development Organization

The Panzi Hospital Foundation

Domestic:

Higher Achievement

Latino Student Fund

Interfaith Works

Community Ministries of Rockville

For Love of Children

National Center for Children and Families

House of Ruth

About helena grace

Actively seeking how to live in this seventh decade of my life with creativity, compassion, and imagination. While I'm a retired lawyer/mediator and life-long community activist especially in child advocacy, my relationships with others, two-legged and four-legged, define the source of my growth. My spiritual life connects deeply with music and in the community of the creative. I treasure being a mother, wife, grandmother, and daughter. I experience glimpses of the divine in children's illustrated books, peoples of the world, artists, especially of indigenous art forms. I am intrigued at the possibility of finding kindred spirits in the blogosphere, and exploring how to be authentic and maintain a sense of the sacred, and perhaps the private, in such a global dimension.

2 responses »

  1. You should have annotated each charity with why you find them worthwhile. And you would help them out by providing links to their website. I’ve been thinking about how to promote charities at my blog.

    • Thanks for this suggestion, James. That post was my very first on the web and I had no idea how to link. I’ve been on a learning curve since December 30 so want to go back and improve that post. I’d like to keep it up to date also since one of them just got an award for being an effective NGO.

Leave a Reply

